Leaves of Absence

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) and the Pregnancy Disability Leave Law (PDL) provide a means for eligible employees to balance their work and family responsibilities by taking unpaid, job protected leave for qualifying reasons.  These leave laws are intended to promote the stability and economic security of families as well as the County's interest in preserving the integrity of families.

Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law that provides eligible employees with unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family and medical reasons and is enforced by the U.S. Department of Wage and Hour Division (WHD).  Eligible employees may take up to 12 workweeks of leave in a 12-month period per federal law.  Some County employees are eligible for an additional 6 weeks of FMLA protected leave, as outlined in their applicable MOU or Management Resolution, which extends the FMLA period to 18 workweeks.  FMLA/CFRA does not supersede any Memoranda of Understanding of County Policy that provides greater family or medical leave rights.

California Family Rights Act (CFRA)

The California Family Rights Act (CFRA) is a state law that provides eligible employees with unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family and medical reason and is enforced by the Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH).  Eligible employees may take up to 12 workweeks of leave in a 12-month period per state law.  CFRA/FMLA does not supersede any Memoranda of Understanding that provides greater family or medical leave rights.

Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL)

Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL) is a state law available to female employees regardless of time of employment with the County who become disabled due to pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions.  PDL is an unpaid, job-protected leave that provides up to four (4) months (defined as 17.3 weeks or 693 hours, which equals one-third of a calendar year based on a 40-hour workweek) of leave for a pregnant employee and is certified by her health care provider.  The four (4) months may be taken all at once, during the last few weeks before and time after delivery, as well as time off throughout the pregnancy for morning sickness, prenatal visits, or any other childbirth related medical condition.

Forms and Notices for Leave of Absences


Fact Sheets