Unincorporated Communities

District 1 of Contra Costa County includes several unincorporated communities, or communities that don't fall within the boundaries of cities.

In unincorporated areas, the County is generally the primary provider of government services including law enforcement (County Sheriff's) fire protection, public works, building permits, and code enforcement. There are some exceptions. Kensington, for example, has special tax payer funded assessment districts that oversee the community's police, fire, recreation, and garbage services.

The County's largest unincorporated communities have resident Municipal Advisory Councils (MAC's), who weigh in on local issues, reporting to the Board of Supervisors. Board members are volunteers, appointed by their local county supervisor.

District 1's unincorporated communities include:

Other unincorporated areas of District 1 include: Bay View,East Richmond Heights, Montalvin Manor, Rollingwood and Tara Hills.