Interpersonal Violence Division

The Interpersonal Violence Division is comprised of four units. 

Sexual Assault Unit

Domestic Violence Unit

Child Abuse Unit

Elder/Dependent Abuse Unit


The prosecution of these cases begins only after a police investigation is completed and the police agency presents this unit with the results of that investigation in the form of police reports, at which time charging decisions are made.

The unit is a vertical prosecution unit, which means one Deputy District Attorney is assigned to the case from the beginning to the end. This enables more effective prosecution as the prosecutor has an in-depth knowledge of the case. In addition, this allows for a better rapport between the victim and the prosecutor.

The unit makes every effort to respect confidentiality requests of victims, and to deal with these cases in as sensitive and respectful a manner as possible.