Vendors Doing Business
CONTRA COSTA COUNTY PURCHASING SERVICES
Thank you for your interest in doing business with Contra Costa County. Each year, the County procures over 165 million dollars in equipment, products and supplies through the Purchasing Division. Purchasing works closely with County departments to procure the goods and services they need. Please contact us if additional information or assistance is needed. We can be contacted by email or by calling 925-313-2120.
Purchasing Services is the place to start to identify business opportunities available to your business. We are open to responsible vendors who supply goods and services that are competitive, reliable and meet the County's needs.
Rules governing purchasing and contract procedures were established under the concept of open competitive bidding. Under the system, awards are made to the lowest responsible bidder who meets the published specifications, possess the capability to deliver the requested product or service, and offers the best value to the County.
Vendors should register with Purchasing Services using the Purchasing Portal website. Completing registration provides us with your contact information and identifies the nature of the products or services you provide. It also indicates your eligibility for business opportunity programs. Instructions for completing registration can be found in the links below.
Purchasing Services uses BidSync to notify vendors of formal solicitations. Vendor registration is free and the County does not require vendors to pay any fees.
BUSINESS ENTERPRISE DEFINITIONS
Small Business Enterprise (SBE)
Independently owned and operated; cannot be dominant in its field of operation; must have its principal office located in California; must have its owners (or officers in the case of a corporation) domiciled in California; AND together with affiliates, be either: a business with 100 or fewer employees, an average annual gross receipts of $14 million or less over the previous three tax years, or a manufacturer with 100 or fewer employees.
Minority Business Enterprise (MBE)
At least 51% owned and managed on a daily basis by one or more minorities who are citizens or lawful permanent residents of the United States and member(s) of a recognized ethnic or racial group AND its home office is located in the United States.
Women Business Enterprise (WBE)
At least 51% owned and managed on a daily business by one or more women who are citizens or lawful permanent residents of the United States AND its home office is located in the United States.
Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE)
At lease 51% owned and managed on a daily business by socially and economically disadvantaged individuals (pursuant to Section 3 of the Small Business Act). DBE certifications are used only for state or federally funded projects that have DBE goals or requirements.
Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise (DVBE)
At least 51% owned and managed on a daily basis by one or more disabled veterans of the military, naval, or air service of the United States with a service-connected disability of at least 10 percent, and who is also a resident of California; AND a sole proprietorship corporation or partnership with its home office located in the United States that is not a subsidiary of a foreign firm.
Local Business Enterprise (LBE)
Principal place of business is located within the boundaries of Contra Costa County.
PURCHASING SERVICES RESOURCES
- Vendor Registration Instructions (PDF) step-by-step registration instructions.
- National Institute of Governmental Purchasing (NIGP) (PDF) is a database of codes.
- Vendor Maintenance document (PDF) provides instruction for changing and adding information.
- Purchase Order Terms & Conditions (PDF) provides a list of general terms and conditions.
CONTRA COSTA COUNTY BUSINESS LICENSE
A Business License is an annual tax you pay each calendar year for doing business within the unincorporated area of the County of Contra Costa.
The County Ordinance requires that you obtain a license for conducting business within the unincorporated area, even if your business is located outside our limits or you have a business license from another city.
Conducting business in the unincorporated area of the County of Contra Costa without a license can result in penalties, notice of violations, and court action.
It is important to know that most California cities and counties have a business license tax ordinance. However, each city has its own tax rate, structure, and requirements. Check with the appropriate city or county for their requirements.
Please visit the Treasurer-Tax Collector's website for more information regarding Business Licenses.