County Planning Commission


The County Planning Commission (CPC) consist of seven members appointed by the board on the basis that one member shall be nominated by each of the five supervisors and two members shall be nominated by the board of supervisors as a whole. The appointed commissioners serve for four-year terms beginning on July 1st and ending on June 30th.

Agendas and Annotated Agendas (2017 Through Present)

Agendas are available prior to the scheduled meetings.

Most Recent (PDF) | View All

All meetings start at 6:30 p.m. and are held at 30 Muir Road, Martinez in the ZA Room

2023 Meeting Dates
2023 County Planning Commission and Zoning Administrator Meeting Schedule (PDF)


Link to County Planning Commission Videos
If a meeting is in progress, there will be a link to live streaming at the top of the CPC videos page.

  1. Responsibilities
  2. Contact Us


The Planning Commission is responsible for

  • Exercise all powers and duties prescribed by law, including consideration of matters referred to it by the zoning administrator except those powers and duties specifically reserved or delegated to other divisions of the planning agency.
  • Initiate preparation of general plans, specific plans, regulations, programs and legislation to implement the planning power of the county.
  • Be generally responsible for advising the legislative body of matters relating to planning.
  • Be the advisory agency as designated in Title 9 of this code for the purpose of passing on subdivisions.
  • Hear and decide all applications or requests for proposed entitlements estimated to generate one hundred or more peak hour trips unless otherwise provided by this code or board order.
  • Hear and make recommendations regarding proposed development agreements when it is hearing the related project applications being processed concurrently with the development agreements.