Arts Recognition Honorees

AC5 Annual Arts Awards

We have honored these recipients of the Arts Recognition Awards for their outstanding achievement and contribution to Contra Costa's arts and culture. Each has advanced the appreciation of the Arts in Contra Costa County.


•    Dr. Alan Siegel from San Pablo, for his work with the Art of Health and Healing at County Regional Center and health Centers.

•    Clarinet Fusion - A Clarinet chorus that performs throughout the County, and is now developing programs to reach music lovers of all ages all over the world.

•    Sharon Redman, from Brentwood - Founder and Artistic Director of Vagabond Players.  She celebrates Seniors talents by having them perform in her shows and this troupe of performers do shows at Senior centers, Assisted Living facilities and small venues in Central and East county.

•    Richard and Natica Angilly from Richmond, for all of their work with Poetic Dance Classes and Poetic Dance Theatre events for more than 30 years all over the world.

•    Jack Cattan, from Walnut Creek, on the Board of Diablo Ballet and has substantially contributed his leadership to Diablo Ballet's PEEK Outreach for title-one schools and the Juvenile Justice system program.

•    Robin Moore, of Pleasant Hill, for her Distinguished Service and Leadership to the County’s Poetry Out Loud Program for High school students.

•    Diablo Regional Arts Association from Walnut Creek, for their Outstanding Contribution to the Arts through their Art Access program and for providing Grants to many of the performing arts organizations in the County.


Richmond RYSE Center Performing Arts

Sylvia Amorino, founder and Artistic Director of Solo Opera

Michael and Shannon Demers

Jay Bedecarre

Lawrence Kohl, past president of the  Orinda Art Council and Pacific Chamber Symphony Music Director


Rhu A. Bigay, Oil painter specializing in Historical aircraft

Pamela Freund-Stiplen, Co-founder of the Gold Coast Players

Peter Maund, Percussionist and founding member of Ensemble Alcatraz


Sylvia Fein, painter

Joel Summerhill, Landscape architect and painter

Silvester Henderson, Music Department Chair, Los Medanos College


Los Cenzontles Mexican Arts Center, San Pablo

Corey Mason, Educator and Founder WorldOne Radio/Festival, El Cerrito

James Phillip Wright, Architect, Orinda


St. Mary’s College Museum of Art

Michelle Seville, Arts/Cultural Manager, City of Richmond

Hershell West, Artist and Arts Advocate


Shogard Butler, Artist

Joan Marable, Arts Educator, Lafayette Partner’s In Education

Mario Scharmer, Artist


Diane Gilfether, Musical Director, Blackhawk Chorus

Anthony McCarty, Founder and Artistic Director, Galatean Players Ensemble

Women Sing, Martin Benvento Artistic Director


No awards


Jerrold Hatchett, Arts Benefactor, Richmond

Joan Landis, Poet

Elizabeth Koehler-Pentacoff, Children’s Author

Oscar Reynolds, Musician

Richmond Art Center