Contra Costa County Humanitarian of the Year Award

Tamisha Walker honored by Board of SupervisorsTamisha Walker

2020 Humanitarian of The Year

Tamisha Walker is the recipient of the Contra County Board of Supervisors’ 2020 Humaitarian of the Year Award. She was chosen for her community organizing and advocacy for individuals reentering from the criminal justice system. 

She is the co-founder and Executive Director of the Safe Return Project, a Richmond, CA based organization invested in securing the freedom of formerly incarcerated individuals.

Past Recipients of the Humanitarian of the Year Award
Reverend Donnell R. Jones, 2019, Richmond

Phil Arnold, 2018
James Noe, 2017, Alamo
Terri Porter, 2016
Bishop Edwina Perez-Santiago, 2015Mary Perez & Neil & Carol Wilson 1998
Sister Ann Welts, 2014Rollie Mullen , 1997
Doug Stewart, 2013Helen Troxel and Rollie Mullen, 1997
Corrie Sain, 2012Charles Wilson, 1996
Laura Johnson, 2011Perfecto Villarreal, 1995
Della Randolph, 2010Lloyd Madden, 1994
Larry Lewis, 2009Bessanderson McNeil, 1993
Charles D. Tinsley, Dr., 2008Lucy Donly, 1992
Veronica Pope, 2007January Fredenburg, 1991
Jerrold L. Hatchett, 2006Yoshiye Togasaki, M.D., 1990
Bishop Curtis Timmons,2005Lonnie R. Bristow, M.D., 1989
Mr. Walter Ruelig, 2004Rev. Malcolm & Jo Lee, 1988
Reverend Phillip Lawson, 2003John "JJ" Johnson, 1987
Robin Poindexter, 2002Charles Spears, 1986
Troy Greer Grove, 2001Donald Fibush, 1985
Eddie Menosse, 2000Guillermo "Bill" Muniz, 1984
Orin Allen, 1999