Sustainability Commission


  • Provide Advice to staff and the Board on successful implementation of the Climate Action Plan, including suggestions on how that work can be performed more efficiently and effectively.
  • Advise the Board on opportunities to realize equity and fairness across the diverse communities of Contra Costa County in sustainability programs that support the Climate Action Plan.
  • Provide suggestions to staff and the Board on how to better engage Contra Costa County residents and businesses on sustainability issues and implementation of the Climate Action Plan.

The Sustainability Commission Bylaws provide more information about how the Commission is organized and operates.


Most Recent Agenda
All Agendas

The Sustainability Commission meets every other month on the fourth Monday, 5-7 p.m. (the December meeting is earlier in the month).  Meetings are held online for now. Agendas are posted online a few days before the meeting. 

2021 Meeting Dates

February 22
April 26
June 28
August 23
October 25
December 13 (tentative)

Sign up for Notifications

To sign up for Sustainability Commission email or SMS alerts, please visit the County’s Notify Me page. You will need to log in and go the Sustainability Commission, located under Agenda Center.

  1. Meeting Recordings
  2. Members
  3. Reports and Presentations
  4. Contact Us

2020 Meeting Recordings

Starting in June 2020, the Sustainability Commission meetings began being held online. Recordings of the meetings will be re-posted after the recordings are revised to include closed captioning. 

June 22, 2020

August 24, 2020

Click here to see the overview presentation on draft environmental justice policies for the County's General Plan.  The draft policies are included in the agenda for this meeting, which you can find through the link below.

October 26, 2020
December 14, 2020