Reporting Price Gauging
The Contra Costa County District Attorney’s Office wants to remind all residents that price gouging is illegal while our community is under a State of Emergency from the emergence of the novel coronavirus/COVID-19.
Price gouging is when a retailer or seller is attempting to take unfair advantage of the public during an emergency by increasing prices in an unreasonable manner for essential consumer goods and services. California’s anti-price gouging statute, Penal Code Section 396, prohibits raising the price of many consumer goods and services by more than 10 percent after an emergency has been declared.
Members of the public are urged to report any instances of gouging to our Consumer Protection Unit by email at DA-ReportFraud@contracostada.org. Individuals may also fill out a consumer complaint form on our website. Violators of the price gouging statute are subject to criminal prosecution that can result in a one-year imprisonment in county jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000. The DA’s Office is charged with enforcing this statute. Additional civil enforcement action may also be taken by our Office to protect consumers. The California Attorney General’s Office also issued information on price gouging during this emergency.
Call the District Attorney’s at 925-957-8708 with any instances of price gouging. Read Press Release.
Resources on Scams
For resources to avoid scams and protect yourself financially, visit official government websites:
See Contra Costa Sheriff’s Office video on how to avoid scams.
The Federal Communications Commission just announced a new webpage to handle complaints of coronavirus scams, regarding phone and text scams.