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CONTRA COSTA COUNTY 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION & DEVELOPMENT 

BUILDING INSPECTION DIVISION 
30 Muir Road 

Martinez, CA 94553 
Telephone: (925) 674-7200 Fax: (925) 674-7244 

 

ONLINE BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION SECTION B 

Permit Application number (if known): 

Property Address of Permit Application: 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICES AND DECLARATIONS FOR THE APPLICANT 

California State law requires that all permit applicants provide specific declarations regarding the proposed work. This 
document must be submitted with your online ePermit application. Please read, complete, sign and submit by email to 
permits@dcd.cccounty.us. In the message subject, type ePermit Section B followed by your permit number. For example: 
ePermit Section B BIE13-000000. ePermit applications will not be issued until this document has been received by our 
office. 

PERMIT EXPIRATION 
Permit will expire if work is not started within 365 days of permit issuance or 180 days lapse between approved required 
inspections. If the permit expired before work is completed and/or inspected, no additional work shall be performed until a 
new permit is obtained including payment of additional permit fees. Under California Law, uninspected work is a property 
defect and must be disclosed to the next owner prior to transfer of title. 
 
PERMIT EXTENSION 
Prior to permit expiration and upon written request, a one-time extension not to exceed 180 days, may be granted to the 
permit holder. Permit extensions cannot be granted if a permit has expired. 
 
REIMBURSEMENT 
SB815 states that a permittee is entitled to reimbursement of permit fees if the local enforcement agency fails to conduct 
an inspection of the permitted work within 60 days of receiving notice that the work is completed. Please note that 
convenience fees paid to the County’s third party payment processor are not refundable. 
 
INSPECTION REQUESTS 

• It shall be the duty of the permit holder or their authorized agent to notify the building department when work is 
ready for the inspection. 

• It shall be the duty of the permit holder to provide access to and means for inspections of such work that are 
required.  

• Requests for inspection shall be filed at least one working day before such inspection is desired.  
• Inspections may be scheduled by calling the automated telephone system at (925) 646-4108 or online at 

https://epermits.cccounty.us.  
• A representative over the age of 18 must be present at the job site to meet with the inspector. 

 
 
 

 I HAVE READ AND AGREE TO THE TERMS ABOVE.  
 
 

 

mailto:permits@dcd.cccounty.us
https://epermits.cccounty.us/
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REQUIRED DECLARATIONS FOR ONLINE PERMIT APPLICATIONS 

LICENSED CONTRACTOR’S DECLARATION 

I hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that I am licensed under provisions of Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 7000) 
of Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code, and my license is in full force and effect. 

License Class      License No.  

Date      Contractor Signature 

 

 

OWNER-BUILDER DECLARATION 

This statement must be signed by the owner-builder. Check mark one of the boxes below. The owner-builder 
must also complete the following Worker’s Compensation Declaration section. 

I hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that I am exempt from the Contractors’ State License Law for the reason(s) 
indicated below by the checkmark(s) I have placed next to the applicable item(s) (Section 7031.5, Business and 
Professions Code: Any city or county that requires a permit to construct, alter, improve, demolish, or repair any structure, 
prior to its issuance, also requires the applicant for the permit to file a signed statement that he or she is licensed pursuant 
to the provisions of the Contractors’ State License Law (Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 7000) of Division 3 of the 
Business and Professions Code) or that he or she is exempt from licensure and the basis for the alleged exemption. Any 
violation of Section 7031.5 by any applicant for a permit subjects the applicant to a civil penalty of not more than five 
hundred dollars ($500).): 

 I, as owner of the property, or my employees with wages as their sole compensation, will do  all of or  portions of 
the work, and the structure is not intended or offered for sale (Section 7044, Business and Professions Code: The 
Contractors’ State License Law does not apply to an owner of property who, through employees’ or personal effort, builds 
or improves the property, provided that the improvements are not intended or offered for sale. If, however, the building or 
improvement is sold within one year of completion, the Owner-Builder will have the burden of proving that it was not built 
or improved for the purpose of sale.).  

 I, as owner of the property, am exclusively contracting with licensed Contractors to construct the project (Section 7044, 
Business and Professions Code: The Contractors’ State License Law does not apply to an owner of property who builds 
or improves thereon, and who contracts for the projects with a licensed Contractor pursuant to the Contractors’ State 
License Law.). 

 I am exempt from licensure under the Contractors’ State License Law for the following reason:  

 

By my signature below I acknowledge that, except for my personal residence in which I must have resided for at least one 
year prior to completion of the improvements covered by this permit, I cannot legally sell a structure that I have built as an 
owner-builder if it has not been constructed in its entirety by licensed contractors. I understand that a copy of the 
applicable law, Section 7044 of the Business and Professions Code, is available upon request when this application is 
submitted or at the following Web site: http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html. 

 

Signature of Property Owner or Authorized Agent                                                                                 Date   
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WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DECLARATION 
 
WARNING: FAILURE TO SECURE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION COVERAGE IS UNLAWFUL, AND SHALL SUBJECT 
AN EMPLOYER TO CRIMINAL PENALTIES AND CIVIL FINES UP TO ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND DOLLARS 
($100,000), IN ADDITION TO THE COST OF COMPENSATION, DAMAGES AS PROVIDED FOR IN SECTION 3706 OF 
THE LABOR CODE, INTEREST, AND ATTORNEY’S FEES. 
 
I hereby affirm under penalty of perjury one of the following declarations: 
 

 I have and will maintain a certificate of consent to self-insure for workers’ compensation, issued by the Director of 
Industrial Relations as provided for by Section 3700 of the Labor Code, for the performance of the work for which this 
permit is issued. Policy Number: _____________________________ 
 

 I have and will maintain workers’ compensation insurance, as required by Section 3700 of the Labor Code, for the 
performance of the work for which this permit is issued. My workers’ compensation insurance carrier and policy number 
are: 
Carrier                                                                 Policy Number                                        Expiration Date  
 
Name of Agent                                                    Phone Number:  
 

 I certify that, in the performance of the work for which this permit is issued, I shall not employ any person in any 
manner so as to become subject to the workers’ compensation laws of California, and agree that, if I should become 
subject to the workers’ compensation provisions of Section 3700 of the Labor Code, I shall forthwith comply with those 
provisions. 
 
Date                                   Signature of Applicant   
 

 

 
DECLARATION REGARDING CONSTRUCTION LENDING AGENCY 

 
 I hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that there is a construction lending agency for the performance of the   

     work for which this permit is issued (Section 3097, Civil Code). 
 
Lender’s Name  
 
Lender’s Address  
 

 I hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that there is not a construction lending agency for the performance of  
     the work for which this permit is issued (Section 3097, Civil Code). 
 
 
By my signature below, I certify to each of the following: 

 I am the property owner or authorized to act on the property owner’s behalf.  
 I have read this Application Section B and the information I have provided is correct.  
 I agree to comply with all applicable city and county ordinances and state laws relating to building construction.  
 I authorize representatives of this city or county to enter the above-identified property for inspection purposes. 

 
 
 
Signature of Property Owner or Authorized Agent                                                                        Date                              
 
 

Printed Name of Property Owner or Authorized Agent 
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