Show All Answers
Yes. In California, you have the right to vote while you are on probation. You must be a United States citizen, a resident of California, and at least 18 years old. To vote in the next election, you must register to vote at least 15 days before the election. For more Registration and Voting information, please contact:
Contra Costa County Elections Division
555 Escobar Street
You may choose to contact an attorney or the Public Defender’s Office to represent you for Change of Plea proceedings. The following conditions apply for you to be eligible for a change of plea:
Minors are allowed two hours of visitation time per week. Each hour must be completed on two separate visitation days; one weekday and one weekend day. Only parents or legal guardians may visit.
Guidelines: Only Parents or Guardians are allowed to visit. Proper identification, such as a valid California driver's license or identification, must be presented. All personal property must be left in vehicle. All visitors must pass through the metal detector, without alarm, prior to entering the facility. No food or drink allowed within the facility. Some minors are on Special Visit Status, requiring a visiting appointment. Special visits must be arranged in advanced by the parent or guardian by contacting 925-957-2725.
For more information about visiting hours and guidelines please visit: https://www.contracosta.ca.gov/680/John-A-Davis-Juvenile-Hall
Information explaining the record seal process, as well as an application for sealing can be viewed and printed by clicking HERE.
The Probation Department is an arm of the court and an integral part of the criminal justice system. Children and adults are placed on probation by the court after a finding that they have committed a crime. In this scenario Probation would lack jurisdiction and be unable to provide direct services. However, Probation Officers routinely work with counselors, school officials and other professionals who do provide direct services to troubled families. Please call and ask to speak to the officer of the day if you would like to be referred to a local resource agency.
Contact your local law enforcement if you or anyone in your family has been the victim of a crime or is in fear of their safety.
You may also contact the Family Justice Center at: Concord: 925-521-6366 or Richmond: 510-974-7200.
Many resources are available on line at www.cocofamilyjustice.org or https://www.crisis-center.org/programs/211-info-referral/.
If you are the victim of a person who is supervised by a Deputy Probation Officer (DPO). You can contact the Adult Division at 925-313-4000 and ask to speak to the assigned DPO or the Officer of the Day.